Spring has sprung!

What a beautiful day it turned out to be.  In celebration of Spring I want to share some pics and a new growing project I’ve got going.

Have you heard of the Chayote squash?  My Aunt Ree gave me one and showed me a video on how to grow them.  So I thought I’d give it a try, and I’ve been amazed so far.

First I stuck the whole squash in a pot of soil.

When it started making roots, then I was to bury it all under the soil with roots down and the plant part up, above the soil. This happened within 3 days.  So I buried the whole squash under soil as directed.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

then two days later (yesterday) this is how much it grew.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA  and today, the part of the plants that is looped over the plant is now pointing to the sun adding another three to four inches to its height.   I see that I’m going to have to move it outside soon!

In the flower bed, the yellow daffodils have faded away and the white ones are on display.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Seeing the daffodils bloom is an indication Spring has definitely sprung.  Baby animals come to mind.  I have seen a lot of calves in the local pastures as I drive by.  I remember when we found some baby rabbits in our garden last year.  I finished this little stuffed rabbit yesterday.  Thought it was a good way to end winter.

Happy Spring!

spring

Sonia

 

