Ruminate…

via Daily Prompt: Ruminate

Today’s daily prompt is ruminate.

This morning I took an old trunk out of the trunk of my car.  This trunk was made by my grandpa Stricklin.  It is a simple trunk made of rough-hewn wood, utilitarian in use, but it is a piece of my past.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I sanded the piece to bring it back to life, I ruminated on visits to my grandparents’ home in Alabama.  Those are precious memories indeed on Sand Mountain; from the smell of the wood stove my grandmother cooked on, to the music my grandpa and other family members played, to sailing makeshift boats in the artesian spring on the property and chewing on sugarcane from my grandpa’s sugarcane grove.

As I continued, my thoughts went to how, like this trunk, my life has been through transition too.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Like the trunk, I started out rough, dirty in spirit and soul.

Romans 3:23 (NIV) for all have sinned and fall short of the glory of God.

It didn’t matter how much I tried to clean up, I was still dirty-Thought I could make it on my own and denied every time I heard the call of repentance and salvation.

Then one day that all changed.  I realized I couldn’t continue on the way I was, being separated from God.  I accepted the free gift that was offered.  Salvation through the blood of Jesus Christ.

Romans 3:24-26 (NIV) and all are justified freely by his grace through the redemption that came by Christ Jesus. God presented Christ as a sacrifice of atonement, through shedding of his blood – to be received by faith.  He did this to demonstrate his righteousness, because in his forbearance he had left the sins committed beforehand unpunished – he did it to demonstrate his righteousness at the present time, so as to be just and the one who justifies those who have faith in Jesus.

Though I denied him over and over throughout my life, God never gave up on me.

Like this trunk, my life has been transformed to a much greater degree.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Ruminating on tribulations of the past and how with His strength and guidance I made it through, coming out on this side closer to Him and strengthened in my faith.

I once was lost, but now am found. Was once full of anger and resentment, now full of joy and peace.  Once dirty, now clean.  Where I once had confidence in my own control and power, now I have confidence in God’s control and His ultimate power.

Sonia

 

 

