It’s a verb…

Where to begin….

I’ve been away for a while, with no excuse for my absence, just a lot going on.   I didn’t realize how I’ve let things get behind until yesterday while at mom’s, helping her get things through and packed up, when my husband told her that I don’t quilt anymore…  I realized I had let more than my blog get pushed to the proverbial back burner.

Now that  I recognize the state I’m in,  I am going to have to make some adjustments and get back on track.   I will focus on the good things as I write to catch up.

Helping mom go through all her belongings to move from a large four bedroom home, to a tiny one bedroom apartment has been a journey.  Yesterday it hit me for the first time as a little depressing.   Going through items and deciding what to keep, giveaway, sale or just discard.  It has brought forward in my mind memories.   Memories of visits at my grandparents home, stories my dad has told in the past… Mom and I have had some teary moments and happy ones along the way.  It’s a big chore but a needed one and it will make it easier in the future.

This morning in church a memory hit me full on and tears began to flow.  We had a baptism and when the young lady who was being baptised came up out of the water and people clapped the memory of my baptism came to mind.

I remembered coming up out of the water and hearing my dad’s strong AMEN! and his clapping and the smile on his and mom’s face.  That was a good moment, knowing I was in obedience to the Lord and my family was there to share the moment with me… precious memories.

I was able to take time to do a little flea marketing on a lunch break this past week.

I found a few treasures… a very small cobalt blue “Vicks Drops” bottle, a ceramic lighthouse thermometer and a small China plate  by Konigt.p.r.Teltan, Germany US Zone.  The Vicks bottle will go in the old newspaper printer drawer that holds my thimbles and few other small items.  The China plate will replace one that shatter at my feet a few days ago and the lighthouse thermometer will go with some of my ships.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Yesterday morning I was able to get a picture of the beautiful sunrise.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The sunrise was a good start to the weekend.

In this week we will celebrate Valentine’s day.  I have decked my house in the valentine theme… not over the top but valentine’s theme for sure.  Here’s a wreath and a mug rug I made to use in my sewing room.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Valentine’s is all about love.  We give cards and gifts to our loved ones in celebration of the holiday, but there is a gift more precious than anything we could ever give.

Love is a verb.  Love is what Christ did for us on the cross.

1 John gives a good definition in chapter 4, verse 10… “Herein is love, not that we loved God, but that He loved us, and sent His Son [to be] the propitiation for our sins.” (Propitiation=Atonement)

John 3:16 states “God so loved the world, that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

Then in Romans 5:8, “But God commended His love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”

Do you know God’s love?

Sonia

 

 

