Neglect and Return

This morning I pulled back the curtain in my craft room and saw how pitiful and weak my philodendron looked.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So I watered it, removed the dead leaves, and propped it back up on the big needle used as  a stake.  Several hours later I checked on it and it’s back in good shape.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It made me think of how I get when I neglect my walk with the Lord – when I let things of this world lead me astray or pull me down.   Like my plant, I start dragging my feet, so to speak, stumbling along my way and falling down.  And thought I may have loosened my hold on His hand but He never lets go of mine.   He shows me where I need to be and in His way He moves me back to the right path.

“For all flesh is as grass, and all the glory of man as the flower of grass.  The grass withers and the flower thereof falls away: but the Word of the Lord endures forever.  This is the word, which by the gospel is preached to you.” ~ 1 Peter 1:24-25

When I return my focus back on Jesus Christ and His word, then I’m uplifted, walking upright, without stumbling or falling down.

“I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing.” ~ John 15:5

“Therefore as you have received Christ Jesus the Lord, so walk with Him, having been firmly rooted and now being built up in Him and established in your faith, just as you were instructed, and overflowing with gratitude.”  ~ Colossians 2:6-7

Sonia

