Heavy…

You know… I struggle every day with a battle between the Spirit and the flesh and there are times my heart gets heavy and I feel I’m not strong enough to keep going.   But then I receive an encouraging word from a friend, whether it be face to face or through an email or a blog post.  With that encouragement I am able to pick myself  back up, pull up on the boot straps and face the battle again.  I do this by the grace of God and only by His grace am I able to persevere.

Of late, my heart has been burdened with the weight of a collective whole.  How does one deal with a burden as heavy as this, I ask?   The answer came to me –  Pray for discernment.

so….

My thought for today:
I have prayed… I will wait and listen.  The heaviness is not mine to bear alone.
John 14:27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid
**************************************************
Recipe for today:
 When I post a recipe, I will be posting from a set of cookbooks titled Favorite Recipes of America, 
©Favorite Recipes Press, 1968 
PO Box 18324 
Louisville, KY
Since it’s chilly outside I thought I’d start with a casserole dish.  This dish is easy and very tasty.  My options to the recipe are in parenthesis.
Texas Hash
3 large onions, thinly sliced
1 large green pepper, minced
3 tbsp. fat  ( I use olive oil )
1 lb. ground beef
2 c. cooked tomatoes ( I like to use diced stewed tomatoes)
1/2 c. uncooked rice
1 or 2 tsp. chili powder
2 tsp. salt
1/8 tsp. pepper
Saute onions and green pepper in fat (oil) until tender.  Add meat and brown until crumbly.  Stir in remaining ingredients.  Pour into greased 2-quart baking dish.  Cover and bake 45 minutes at 350°F.  Remove cover and bake 15 minutes longer.  Mixture may be simmered slowly on top of stove rather than baked.  
Yield: 6-8 servings.     recipe submitted by Mrs. Ann Hoit, Home Economics Teacher, Arlington, Tex.
**************************************************
 Do you have a recipe you would like to share?
If so, please submit it and I will post it with your name. 🙂
**************************************************
Final Thoughts:
How Do You Think
By Author Unknown 
 
If you think you are beaten, you are; If you think you dare not, you don’t! If you’d like to win, but you think you can’t, It’s almost certain you won’t. ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~ 
  If you think you’ll lose, you’re lost; For out in the world we find Success begins with a fellow’s will; It’s all in the state of mind! 
  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~  
If you think you’re outclassed, you are; You’ve got to think high to rise. You’ve got to be sure of yourself Before you ‘ll ever win the prize. 
  ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~  
Life’s battles don’t always go To the stronger or faster man; But sooner or later the man who wins Is the person who thinks he can! 

  — Author Unknown 

Published by sonia67bones

I'm a happily married mom of two, living in Arkansas and selling AVON. Both of my children are grown and in college. I often wonder where the time went. I never thought I'd have blog but when blogs came along, I jumped on board. That just goes to show one doesn't know what the future holds. I was born in 1967 but my life truly began in 1996. That is the year I realized I need God in my life. That is the year I asked Jesus Christ into my life. So, you will see, as you follow my blog, there will be mention of God, Jesus Christ and the Holy Spirit from time to time. I can't live without sharing that part of my life. I like to go to flea markets and visit antique shops and I usually find something to take home with me. I'm fairly new at crocheting. I tried to learn to crochet in my twenties but I didn't have left handed instructions. I could do it right handed but it was hard for me to keep my stitches consistent. Then a few years ago a left handed friend of mine gave me a book with left handed crocheting instructions and I learned to crochet. My first quilt was in done in 2001. Money was tight and I wanted to give my husband something nice. So I decided to make him a "blanket". Little did I know I would be hooked and still be making quilts years later. I'm starting my hand at scrapbooking and watercoloring. We will see how that goes. :) I update my AVON page each week with a special deal, so be sure to check it out. Well, that's a little about me. Hope you enjoy my blog and follow me on this journey.